Go down
Travis
Travis
Spritan
Spritan
Age : 27
Number of posts : 107
Registration date : 2011-07-11
Location : Tahiti

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 3:09 pm
I would really appreciate if you read this in full... thank you.

This damn thing has been a long time coming. Before I get balls deep into my opinion on Final Fantasy XIII you are going to need a little background information on my history with the Final Fantasy series.

Put it this way... Final Fantasy was first thrusted on me when I was 6 years old back in 1998. The first one I played and to this day my all time favorite is Final Fantasy 7. I have played it's compilation and I have watched it's movies. But, back during the 90s I had a choice. I could either buy the next Final Fantasy game which was 8... or I could go backwards. I chose to go backwards.

I will never EVER regret this choice. By going backwards in the series I discovered 2 of the best games of all time. I discovered Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy 6. I will say that I also enjoyed Final Fantasy 5, but nothing else was really enjoyable for me.

Only recently have I looked into the more modern Final Fantasy games. I purchased Final Fantasy 8 after Spoony's review made me laugh and actually made me want to experience the game. He was right about everything, but I enjoyed the ride, but I am glad I never played this game until recently.

Back to the late 90s, after Final Fantasy 8 came Final Fantasy 9... I was even more distanced from this one, simply because the character design was beyond the manga style I could handle... plus I don't like the idea of little kids being the chosen ones to defend and save the world from the ultimate evil. So, I will never EVER play Final Fantasy 9 and nobody can convince me otherwise.

Then came Final Fantasy 10... Yet again, I was not at all interested and Spoony's review made me NOT EVEN WANT TO BE IN THE SAME ROOM WITH THIS GAME. I have had friends bring it over and play it before, but even then it did not do anything for me.

So then there was Final Fantasy 11 which was an MMO so I didn't play it, then there was Final Fantasy 12 and by this time the series had thrown me off so much that I never thought I was going to play a Final Fantasy game again. I will say that I might end up picking up 12 at some point because that game is set in the same world as one of my other favorite games of all time, Vagrant Story.

Anyway, then I saw the first trailer for Final Fantasy 13. Yet again, I wasn't setting myself up to get this game. The graphics looked eye shatteringly stunning, but it just didn't appeal. The development time for this game allowed the marketing campaign to reach me and try and pull me in for quite some time. It was not until I saw an interview where a creator said this game is the modern "Final Fantasy 7" that I wanted this game. The simple uttering of words that made this game similar to Final Fantasy 7 is what sold me. I hadn't played a newer Final Fantasy game since 7 and at this point every little bit of press released about this game was a rush of nostalgia for me.

Then they said the biggest similarity was in the main characters. Lightning was the female version of Cloud. A tough gritty soldier on the outside that would end up questioning their entire life at some point. Although Cloud's questioning was more dramatic.

Stay Tuned For More

___________________________________________________________________________________________

The Truth About Gamestop ||Modern Warfare 2 Sucks... Proof
Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 3334984
Patt
Patt
Administrator
Administrator
Age : 25
Number of posts : 13141
Registration date : 2009-03-28

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 3:48 pm
Chrono Trigger, is also amazing. <3

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Purple11

[The Return]
Travis
Travis
Spritan
Spritan
Age : 27
Number of posts : 107
Registration date : 2011-07-11
Location : Tahiti

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 3:59 pm
I was hoping to get more of a comment standpoint on the entirety of the review lol.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

The Truth About Gamestop ||Modern Warfare 2 Sucks... Proof
Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 3334984
Face
Face
Spritan
Spritan
Age : 31
Number of posts : 13013
Registration date : 2010-04-29
Location : Returned-ed

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 4:05 pm
@Travis wrote:I was hoping to get more of a comment standpoint on the entirety of the review lol.

does he know who hes saying that to?? *prepare for wall of text*

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Untitl15
Travis
Travis
Spritan
Spritan
Age : 27
Number of posts : 107
Registration date : 2011-07-11
Location : Tahiti

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 4:14 pm
@Face wrote:
@Travis wrote:I was hoping to get more of a comment standpoint on the entirety of the review lol.

does he know who hes saying that to?? *prepare for wall of text*

Sorry, I am used to walls of text and not only that, is what I ment was the fact that I was hoping to get a more of what people think about my views.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

The Truth About Gamestop ||Modern Warfare 2 Sucks... Proof
Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 3334984
Face
Face
Spritan
Spritan
Age : 31
Number of posts : 13013
Registration date : 2010-04-29
Location : Returned-ed

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 4:32 pm
yea,no I knew what you meant its just that patt and a few others well wall text is there thing.like saying that to patt is like saying to the hulk "you need to express your anger more" LOL

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Untitl15
Granadico
Granadico
Administrator
Administrator
Age : 24
Number of posts : 12956
Registration date : 2008-11-18
Location : On the computer
https://www.youtube.com/user/Granadicohttps://www.twitch.tv/granadico/profile

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 5:09 pm
Patt has a challenge for Wall o' Text battles.

And tbh i never really played any final Fantasy games :\ I hear that 12 and 13 were incredibly shitty though.
Hope you didn't waste your money

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Granadico made by Knux184

We can learn from the past
But those days are gone
We can hope for the future
But there may not be one
-Mike Portnoy "A Change of Seasons"
Face
Face
Spritan
Spritan
Age : 31
Number of posts : 13013
Registration date : 2010-04-29
Location : Returned-ed

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 5:26 pm
yea and just to throw my 2 cents in I started on 7 and went up so.I totally agree with you on 7 (one of my fav games of all time actually from then on anything with cloud in it I played)and 8 (this game disappointed me so much) not 9 I liked it but the ending was awful.I can not agree with you more on 10 that was an god awful game it killed me I never played a ff again if you don't count crisis core.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Untitl15
Granadico
Granadico
Administrator
Administrator
Age : 24
Number of posts : 12956
Registration date : 2008-11-18
Location : On the computer
https://www.youtube.com/user/Granadicohttps://www.twitch.tv/granadico/profile

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 5:36 pm
Anyone play Dirge of Curburus(sp?)? The one with Vincett Valentine as the main char? That was a fucking badass game, especially the song

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Granadico made by Knux184

We can learn from the past
But those days are gone
We can hope for the future
But there may not be one
-Mike Portnoy "A Change of Seasons"
Face
Face
Spritan
Spritan
Age : 31
Number of posts : 13013
Registration date : 2010-04-29
Location : Returned-ed

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 5:39 pm
you know I was so pissed that cloud wasn't the main char I did not but I was also told it was a good game.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Untitl15
Travis
Travis
Spritan
Spritan
Age : 27
Number of posts : 107
Registration date : 2011-07-11
Location : Tahiti

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 6:11 pm
@Granadico wrote:Anyone play Dirge of Curburus(sp?)? The one with Vincett Valentine as the main char? That was a fucking badass game, especially the song

I'll give you my review on that game here in a few minutes.

What I will say about that game is this: "Bullshit."

What can that mean? I don't know... well I do, but you don't. I'll be posting my Dirge of Cerberus review here before long.

Hey Eric... Lange has a special forum just for his likings. I deserve one because I have pubic hair and pennies.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

The Truth About Gamestop ||Modern Warfare 2 Sucks... Proof
Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 3334984
Patt
Patt
Administrator
Administrator
Age : 25
Number of posts : 13141
Registration date : 2009-03-28

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 6:44 pm
This guy wants me to post walls of texts in response to his. We're about to start a maze of text oh hot damn.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Purple11

[The Return]
Face
Face
Spritan
Spritan
Age : 31
Number of posts : 13013
Registration date : 2010-04-29
Location : Returned-ed

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 6:45 pm
aww shit....

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Untitl15
Patt
Patt
Administrator
Administrator
Age : 25
Number of posts : 13141
Registration date : 2009-03-28

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 6:46 pm
Travis mah boy, you wait. ; D

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Purple11

[The Return]
Travis
Travis
Spritan
Spritan
Age : 27
Number of posts : 107
Registration date : 2011-07-11
Location : Tahiti

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 6:56 pm
I will say this Patt... It's a damn shame that we aren't doing this on Newgrounds... responding to quotes is much easier there.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

The Truth About Gamestop ||Modern Warfare 2 Sucks... Proof
Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 3334984
Patt
Patt
Administrator
Administrator
Age : 25
Number of posts : 13141
Registration date : 2009-03-28

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 8:28 pm
LMFAO, that would be way too insane.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Purple11

[The Return]
Travis
Travis
Spritan
Spritan
Age : 27
Number of posts : 107
Registration date : 2011-07-11
Location : Tahiti

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 9:18 pm
Either way, expect my Dirge review here in a bit, then you can build your wall lol.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

The Truth About Gamestop ||Modern Warfare 2 Sucks... Proof
Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 3334984
Patt
Patt
Administrator
Administrator
Age : 25
Number of posts : 13141
Registration date : 2009-03-28

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 10:29 pm
Lmfao, great walls of China, here we come. ; )

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Purple11

[The Return]
Travis
Travis
Spritan
Spritan
Age : 27
Number of posts : 107
Registration date : 2011-07-11
Location : Tahiti

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/12/2011, 11:10 pm
Your text will be the Great Wall of China while mine will be the asteroid belt.

This reminds me can anyone snag me gameplay footage for some video games if at all possible? I can do it, but it would be more tedious than anything and if I had a partner on doing reviews that would be pretty creepy.

Also are there other sites to put my videos on other than youtube.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

The Truth About Gamestop ||Modern Warfare 2 Sucks... Proof
Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 3334984
Granadico
Granadico
Administrator
Administrator
Age : 24
Number of posts : 12956
Registration date : 2008-11-18
Location : On the computer
https://www.youtube.com/user/Granadicohttps://www.twitch.tv/granadico/profile

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/13/2011, 12:30 am
You guys better not freakin quote eachother's bigass posts

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Granadico made by Knux184

We can learn from the past
But those days are gone
We can hope for the future
But there may not be one
-Mike Portnoy "A Change of Seasons"
Patt
Patt
Administrator
Administrator
Age : 25
Number of posts : 13141
Registration date : 2009-03-28

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/13/2011, 12:31 pm
You know what, I'm gonna quote his hahahahaahha.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Purple11

[The Return]
Face
Face
Spritan
Spritan
Age : 31
Number of posts : 13013
Registration date : 2010-04-29
Location : Returned-ed

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Empty Re: Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1

on 7/13/2011, 3:52 pm


you know it reminds me alot of crisis core and birth by sleep.I like it

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Final Fantasy XIII Review Part 1 Untitl15
Back to top
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum